W. O. Carver Distinguished Service Award

The W. O. Carver Distinguished Service Award recognizes and pays tribute to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the cause of Baptist history. Recipients have exhibited rare and unusual dedication to the cause of Baptist history through writing, teaching, denominational service, archival and library development, historical center and society work on national and state levels, communicating Baptist heritage, and interpreting the history of Baptists.

Previous Recipients

2023 Stephen M. Stookey
2022 Merrill M. Hawkins, Jr.
2021 J. Brent Walker
2019 William Glenn Jonas, Jr.
2018 Karen O’Dell Bullock
2017 Carol Holcomb
2016 Loyd Allen
2015 Delane Tew
2014 Doug Weaver
2013 Mike Williams
2012 Jerry Faught
2011 Bill Sumners
2010 Pamela Durso
2009 Richard V. Pierard
2008 Edwin S. Gaustad
2007 Bill J. Leonard
2006 Bill Pitts
2005 Rosalie Beck
2004 R. Quinn Pugh (posthumously)
2003 William J. Reynolds
2002 Claude L. Howe, Jr.
2001 Walter B. Shurden
2000 Slayden A. Yarbrough
1999 J. Wayne Flynt
1998 E. Earl Joiner (posthumously)
1997 Albert W. Wardin, Jr.
1996 Carolyn D. Blevins
1995 Charles W. Deweese
1994 William R. Estep, Jr.
1993 W. Morgan Patterson
1992 Lee Norcross Allen
1991 C. Penrose St. Amant
1990 F. Wilbur Helmbold (posthumously)
1989 H. Leon McBeth
1988 John S. Moore
1987 William L. Lumpkin
1986 Robert G. Gardner
1985 J. M. Gaskin
1984 Loulie Latimer Owens
1983 Leo T. Crismon
1982 Robert A. Baker

The Distinguished Service Award was presented by the Southern Baptist Historical  Commission from in 1982-1997, by the Southern Baptist Historical Society® in 1998-2000, and by the Baptist History and Heritage Society in 2001-present.